Update on Mattson Co. Estate Liquidations

I had a friend blow into town last weekend and she begged me to take her to Mattson Co. Estate Liquidations in San Diego on Saturday. (I’m sorry, Amy, I promised to take you next, I swear I’ll take you next week!) It has been a couple weeks since I visited their brand new store, and they’ve now opened the second floor–as promised. So here’s what I saw:

thrift storeThe second floor is very big, so they have more furniture, clothing racks and tons of shelving full of treasures.

hardwareThis was exciting for me…….shelves of hardware. Nails, screws, knobs, etc. I picked up a couple old hacksaw blades that I’ll use for washi tape racks. (It’s the little things that make life great)

secondhand booksI picked up two big books for my organizer boards. They had some books there that were so beautiful both inside and out that I couldn’t buy them with the intention of gutting them. They’re still there if you want a really beautiful book.

miscellaneous shelfThe shelves upstairs are very long and contain all sorts of awesome stuff like vintage tins, office supplies, candle holders and all sorts of flotsam that you can’t live without.

quilts aplenty

Since they’ve opened they’ve acquired many more quilts, all very beautiful. There were definitely a couple that caught my eye.

velvet sofaLast, but not least, they had an adorable tufted velvet sofa that would look fantastic in my Widow House. So sweet, it made me weepy. Don’t ask!

Anyway……….it’s definitely worth driving out for. Also, There’s a fantastic cafe next door called Water’s. The food is organic, sustainable, California type Hippie stuff that I absolutely die for. They serve wine by the glass as well for all you lushes out there. And they let my friend and I sit there talking for hours without giving us dirty looks.  I love that in a place.

Hope you find the time to stop by, it’s awesome.

All thoughts are welcome!

