And so it begins…

My husband and I dream about leaving the suburbs when our daughter graduates high school in 2 years. The burbs have been the perfect place to raise her, but we’re totally done with yard work and having our weekends consumed by thatch removal. We want to downsize to a loft in downtown San Diego, which means I’ll have considerably less storage space for all the products I’ve accumulated over the last 14 years working as a decorative paint contractor.

Destashing is just what you think it is….getting rid of your stash. My goal is to destash the bulk of my inventory by July of 2014. I plan to get rid of most of it by just plain using it up. Whether in my own home, a friend’s or on pieces that I turn around and sell in my Etsy shop. Using the products will be the quickest, and funnest way to get rid of it but probably not enough.

Another way to destash will be trading products with friends for something I need, i.e. “I’ll trade you a gallon of Antique Cherry Stain & Seal for a gallon of Aquacreme.” (I’m not kidding, I have a GALLON of that stuff!) This appeals to me mostly because I’m trying to do this as cheaply as possible. Donating to groups or individuals in need will also work. I’ll sell products when people don’t have anything to trade or when I just plain can’t use it. Not buying new products will force me to mix my own colors. It will also encourage me to use products in new ways just to get rid of it.

I have broken my inventory (Stash page) down into categories and will replace products only when a category is empty. And now for a little lesson in color…..You can make nearly every color with white, black, red, yellow and blue. So if a color is needed that I can’t make because one of the primary or tint colors is gone, that’s when I’m allowed to purchase a new one. My goal will always be to work with what  I’ve got so I’ll try to keep working with the colors I have for as long as possible.

Wish me luck!

One thought on “And so it begins…

  1. Pingback: Status Report | destashio

All thoughts are welcome!

