Color Theory

My product stash grew to this unwieldy size through many years of projects in my decorative paint business, which means the products aren’t exactly my style or my favorite color. In general I lean toward loud colors and bold patterns. But in the last 14 years I have learned that most people like beige. I don’t know that they like beige, actually, I think they just feel safe with beige. No one’s going to judge you for beige walls with taupe accents….at least not to your face.

My home has a lot of color, as I’m sure you can imagine. For example my kitchen counter top is lime green, the walls are sea blue and orange, the cabinets are black and the backsplash is blue and black checkered glass. Trust me, it’s awesome! I’ve never had a guest say they didn’t like it, but they don’t exactly beg me to come replicate it at their house either. I hear things like, “What would my husband say?” and, “He’d never let me do this.”

All I can say is, you’d be surprised what husbands like. They don’t even know what they like. My husband was a white wall guy when I met him. Now he goes in to other people’s beige homes and calls them pussies. (This totally happens so think twice before you invite us over.) Before I change things at home he always questions it but never stops me because he’s learned that even if he can’t picture it, he will probably love it. I wouldn’t go so far as saying he trusts me, because he doesn’t, but he definitely doesn’t stop me.

So my biggest concern in this destashing challenge is that a lot of the products in my stash are beige. Dark beige, almost dark beige, light beige, not quite coffee colored beige, etc. But that’s what colorants are for so thank goodness I have a lot of those. Mix on!

5 thoughts on “Color Theory

  1. I LOVE color too! I simply do not understand the love affair people have with beige. Maybe for selling a home, bland pallet sort of thing, but to live in? Give me tons of bright colors any day.

  2. My home is very bold buy I’ll be moving house in December. I have a baby now and DH’s father will be living with us too… after living in a contemporary home with a tangerine lounge suit, guess what colour I’ve decided on for our future living room walls, BEIGE! I thought I’d compensate my adding a metallic accent wall and bright accessories.

  3. Pingback: Behr Sample Paints « destashio

All thoughts are welcome!

