Built In Desk Makeover – Day Two

Here we are on Day Two. The desk got two coats of Paprika colored Sherwin-Williams Wood Classics oil stain. I chose this product because you can tint it to colors outside of the traditional wood colors. I love this color but it will look even better once I antique it. You’re actually supposed to apply the stain and then wipe it off, but I’m lazy so the second coat was left on pretty thick. I don’t know how many layers, done the right way, it would take to get to this level of color. I am not unlike that really old Tootsie Pop commercial….how many licks does it take……..crunch. It’s not a horrible way to go, but it does take a lot longer to dry.

Today I’m putting on a dark antiquing layer, and that will be a quick task. Stay tuned.

All thoughts are welcome!

