Built In Desk Makeover – Day Three

So here we are at Day Three. Antiquing glaze…….done. I antiqued this with a light coat of Sherwin-Williams Wood Classics oil stain in the New Ebony color. I wiped off most of it right after I applied it. It’s always helpful to have a nice soft brush to blend in the stain after you wipe it off, especially when using such a strong color. No matter how careful you are wiping it off, there are tough spots like corners where your rag will leave ugly marks that you don’t want to be permanent. After all, I’m looking for “antiqued” not “where did you find that pathetic piece of furniture.”

I’m assuming you understood that I was doing the drawer fronts as well. Here they are in my studio. This photo is better at showing the antique effect I achieved.

This stain has a weird sheen when it dries and I’m not sure why Sherwin-Williams thought it was a good idea. Stain tends to absorb into wood a little unevenly due to the differences in grain density. So the sheen shows up where the stain couldn’t absorb in as well, so the sheen itself is uneven. I would imagine that if you used this product on oak it would look like a shiny zebra, but I haven’t tried it. As long as you plan on top coating your piece you don’t need to worry about the sheen. I always put a couple coats of a satin top coat on for durability, and it gets rid of the sheen.

So top coating is the last step and that’s not really photo worthy, so the next post will be when it’s all finished and the hardware is on. Stay tuned.

5 thoughts on “Built In Desk Makeover – Day Three

  1. Hi there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us so I came to give it a look. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Outstanding blog and wonderful style and design. 939433

  2. You can certainly see your skills in the work you write. The arena hopes for more passionate writers such as you who are not afraid to mention how they believe. All the time follow your heart.

  3. Pingback: Mirror Makeover – Day Two « destashio

All thoughts are welcome!

