Vintage Suitcase with Painted Details

vintage suitcaseI picked up this little beauty at a local flea market. Through research, I have discovered that it was made in the 1940’s, and yes, that’s a Bakelite handle. The inside was in pristine shape, but obviously there was a stain on one side. I thought painting some details would draw the eye away from it. I wanted to add details without completely covering the cool tweed, so I decided on stripes and stitching.

painted vintage suitcase Isn’t it beautiful?! I painted the details with Faux Effects’ Stain & Seal. I chose this product because I have no idea what they make these suitcases out of and Stain & Seal will stick to anything. Stain & Seal is incredibly durable because it bites in to the surface, so I know it will hold up to all kinds of abuse.

interior vintage suitcaseI swear the inside is in such good shape that I wonder if it was ever used. This would make a great storage piece, but there’s no reason why you couldn’t use it for it’s original purpose. You would have the coolest carry-on in the whole plane. This treasure is now for sale on my Etsy shop if you want to take it home.

Inventory used: Stain & Seal

All thoughts are welcome!

