What I did for love

antique crewel pillowLook what I did this weekend! It’s really not a big deal, but it was on that large stack in my studio called, “Crap I’ll make when I have free time.” I’m sure we all have those piles sitting around the house (and if you say you don’t we all know you’re lying). When I cleaned up my studio, the pile resurfaced so I refused to put it away. Believing that if I saw it every day, I would finally finish it.

I bought the front of this pillow at an antique store in Capitola, California, which is one of my favorite places to go. The pillow was tattered, but I thought I could separate the front from the worn out back and recycle it. I added strips of flannel to the sides to make it fit a 18 x 18 pillow form and then made the back out of a pretty blue fabric that I picked up at a thrift store. Like I said, it’s not a big deal, but it does look better on my couch than it did on the pile, which is now considerably smaller.

toile bulletin boardI made this for my daughter’s study area. Sorry for the lame picture, but it’s a hallway and tough to photograph. I found the fabric at Casa Artelexia, a Mexican decor store in Little Italy in San Diego. It looks like a French toile, but if you look closely, all the people are actually skeletons. The instant I saw it, I had to have it. It was $11 for a yard. I had no idea what I was going to do with it, but when I was cleaning out the studio (you’d be amazed at the things you find when you clean) I came across this frame which I bought when my daughter was in Kindergarten. Ridiculous, I know. The pale bluish stain goes perfectly with all the wood stain in her new study spot, thus the bulletin board was born. There is a layer of cork under the fabric.

toile pinboardThis isn’t a big deal either, but it feels good to get things off that pile, especially when all the materials are already here and begging to be used.

Good luck with your own pile and Happy Pinning!

One thought on “What I did for love

All thoughts are welcome!

