I Can’t Help Myself! Bed to Bench Makeover Day 3

I didn’t get much sleep last night. I’m blaming my Starbucks addiction. So I pretty much dragged myself in to the studio to find sandpaper with the intention of distressing the paint on the bench and following it with a dark glaze. On my way I bumped into a stencil and while looking at it I suddenly got a new idea.

stenciled flower vasesAdorable, right?! The stencil is a new design from Royal Design Studio, licensed from pattern designer, Bonnie Christine. This stencil is actually laid out on one piece of mylar, to be used as an allover wallpaper pattern. I decided to instead use them in a straight line, like a border.

painted headboardThis large blank space had been staring at me. I had a thought to install a tufted panel of fabric but I was struggling with the right way to do it. Then this stencil jumped out and saved me. I had planned on keeping this piece simple, but like I said, I can’t help myself. I have a really hard time leaving things unadorned, and I was too weak from lack of sleep to stop myself.

hand painted flower vaseIt’s so freaking cute I’m nearly weeping. Can you even stand it?!

I’ll try again tomorrow to sand and glaze it, which will complete the paint portion of this project. All I need is a good night’s sleep.

5 thoughts on “I Can’t Help Myself! Bed to Bench Makeover Day 3

  1. Holy crap bag, girl, you’ve been busy! And to think I only watch dumb tv and eat pretzels when I’m up in the middle of the night. It looks fantastic and I can’t wait to warm my just-for-decoration ass on it when it’s done. You go, girl!

All thoughts are welcome!

