How do you know when you’re done?

I think I’m one day away from being done with the (unplanned) remodel of my daughter’s bathroom. It’s turning out beautifully, but I’m not posting photos because I’m not done. How do you know when you’re done? When everything on the yellow legal pad has a check mark next to it, you’re done. At least that’s what my dad taught me. Another thing I’ve learned from my dad……invest in yellow legal pads. Sometimes the list has to be revised.

Do you know why people in the middle of a remodel underestimate when the project will be finished? Because they remember only the big things like replacing the counter, but forget the small things like filling in nail holes. Small things add up to a lot more time than you’d like to believe.

Our bathroom remodel is what most people would call, “finished,” but I’m not done working in there. I mean, my daughter brushed her teeth and used her new Assmaster 2000 before she left for school this morning, but I was still down on my hands and knees in there all day.

Here’s the list of piddly sh*# that’s on my yellow pad for tomorrow:

  1. clean electrical outlets (covered in paint)
  2. clean window screen (nasty)
  3. install shelves
  4. install hooks, jewelry holders and art
  5. clean window blinds and install
  6. clean and install vent covers (still covered in wallpaper)
  7. install carpet trim pieces
  8. caulk toilet
  9. clean floors and mirrors

None of this stuff is noteworthy, but this is the stuff that’s between me and the moment when I take pictures and scream, “I’m done!” This moment will be closely followed by an even greater moment involving a Grande Latte at Starbucks and a magazine purchase at Barnes & Noble. (I know, I’m such a cheap date) Anyway, that’s what I’m doing here…..trying to get the last few chores off my yellow legal pad. Photos will follow when there are nine check marks on my legal pad. Wish me luck……..or send more legal pads…….only the yellow ones, the white ones don’t work.

One thought on “How do you know when you’re done?

All thoughts are welcome!

