Really Quick Chair Makeover

black toile chairsSeveral months ago my stepmother brought me two chairs she had picked up at an antique shop. She knew I’d love the fabric and thought I could probably fix up the paint and make them better.

She was right, I do love the fabric. Unfortunately the person who had them before me had used a ton of hot glue to stick the trim on, so when I removed the seats to paint them the fabric got kind of trashed. Now what?

I knew my sister needed new chairs and I decided to make them over for her instead.

adorable chairs Aren’t they adorable! I found the fabric at JoAnn’s Fabric and it’s made for the outdoors so it’s really durable. Durability is a must at my sister’s house because they have big dogs running around and they just brought home a new puppy.

very colorful chairsThis makeover only took a couple days. Removing the original fabric was the toughest part. After that was gone, the rest of the work was simple. I used a new Valspar prime + paint spray which covered the black quickly. The new paint is really bright and high gloss so it’s fun and trendy. I added some new padding to the seat before covering it with the new fabric.

My sister loves them and they look adorable in her dining room. Easy peasy.

6 thoughts on “Really Quick Chair Makeover

  1. Karen, I can’t tell you how in love I am with these chairs! They’re freakin’ amazing. Finally my ass isn’t getting pinched between the broken seat pieces of those old wooden chairs we’ve glued together 27 times. I thank you, Kathy thanks you, and my ass thanks you. What a great present!

  2. Pingback: Kitchen Chairs Makeover | Crazywonderfullife

All thoughts are welcome!

