Fair Warning: You’re going to be jealous

I’ve never been one of those girls that like purses. Let me rephrase that…I’ve never been one of those girls that like traditional purses. I don’t understand why people like Coach, Dooney & Burke, Dolci Gabbana, etc (please forgive me if I’ve misspelled those, I don’t like them so I don’t know how to spell them). Categorically, I think traditional purses are too heavy, too flashy and too big. So when I need to get a new bag I pretty much drag my feet on the way to finding a replacement.

For about a month I have been dragging around a small backpack because I got sick of how big my last purse was. I didn’t put all the stuff in it that I actually need because I didn’t want to admit that I needed a new purse. If I admitted to the need I would have to actually shop for a purse, and I hate shopping for purses. I decided that maybe the best way to prevent one of those horrible shopping trips I could just try to make a purse. So the other night I searched Pinterest for “free purse patterns.” I found one I liked and found the time yesterday to sew it up. Warning: it’s adorable.

Phoebe BagTo die for, I know. This pattern is called the Phoebe Bag and is from Rebeka Lambert at artsy-crafty babe. I found her free pattern on Pinterest and it took me only 4 1/2 hours to sew, and I swear I wasn’t racing. The pattern and directions print out in 4 pages and the pattern pieces are the correct size, you don’t have to enlarge them at all.

artsy-crafty babeThe fabric I used is all from my stash. The only thing I had to buy was a magnetic snap closure. The lime-green flocked linen and the green damask print on the inside were pieces I picked up at Matilda’s Mouse Clearance sale last month. The cream tulip patterned fabric on the flap came from my friend Kate’s garage when we were cleaning it out. The bright blue, brown and green floral on the strap was a vintage piece I picked up at an antique store in Capitola when we were visiting Aunt Crystal’s beach house (aka: Heaven on Earth).

inside pockets inside-handmade-purseThere are two pockets on the inside for my phone and my keys. The pattern was really easy to follow and I didn’t find any flaws with the design or the directions. I don’t consider myself an expert sewer at all, so if you’re tempted to try this, definitely jump in. I’m so happy with the way it turned out (obviously).

I know this post has nothing to do with painting, so thanks for indulging me in my stray from the main topic of this blog. I just think this bag is so stinking cute that I have to share it. So what did you do with your Labor Day?

6 thoughts on “Fair Warning: You’re going to be jealous

  1. Although I’m way too butch to carry a purse (although I do have a bag with me 24/7) it really looks like you and I have to admit, it’s pretty damn cute. (Way cuter than mine!) As usual, I love the way you combined the fabrics–you have such an eye for that. If you ever want to branch out in a new direction for your Etsy shop, you might consider making cool and unusual bags. I think they’d really be a hit. My Labor Day was so boring that I don’t even remember what I did. What did you do?

    • Thanks for the vote of confidence, Lisa, but the purse market is way flooded on Etsy. Let me know if you want me to make one for you. I’ll make it out of flannel plaid. What’s more butch than that?

  2. Absolutely adorable purse- great job on it!! Don’t you love having a bag NO ONE else in the world has, rather than the latest designer bag “everyone” has, or thinks they have to have?!? I’m right there with you in not getting the appeal. And as you might tell from of my moniker, what you did with those great fabrics is, to me, what creativity is all about… whether the medium is fabric or paint or wood or paper or…

    I made a bag a few years ago from a dining room chair cover I bought at a yard sale. I love the fabric and enjoy carrying it around with me in the form of a purse. I’m sure you’ll enjoy yours and get LOTS of compliments.

All thoughts are welcome!

