Marburger Farm’s Antique Show

(this is part of a series that began September 27th)

cream and brown design schemeThanks to my cousin letting us take her car first thing, (Thanks, Cheri!) Dianna and I got our Starbucks and headed out to the Marburger Farm’s Antique Show as fast as our loaner car could take us. Not as fast as the speed limit, however, which is 80mph in some places…….crazy Texans. You can see by the very first photo that it was totally worth going. Yummmmmmmmm.

dark and lovely displayI have been to a fair share of shows, but I’ve never seen one this big or with such a high caliber of display and merchandising all in one place. I’m used to going to big shows and seeing a handful of vendors who go all out with eye catching booths. This show didn’t have one display that was boring or uninteresting.

vintage crates and boxesEven the vendors who specialized in a certain thing made an effort to grab your attention. I loved these crates. The vendor adds the handles and varnishes them to really bring out their color. Love that.

vintage books and tinsThis was the first booth we saw, in the first tent we went to . They had a little bit of everything, so we took our time. My goal was to see as much as we could but not rush. It was hot so I didn’t want us perspiring anymore than necessary.  A sweaty shopper is an unhappy shopper.

antique chandeliersThey have several old houses and shacks on the property that were shared by a small number of vendors whose stuff complimented eachother. This one had lighting, coral and metal bins. Works for me.

columns and butterfliesThis booth made me want to cry it was so beautiful. I mean, come on! If you aren’t crying right now it’s because you have no soul and you might want to do something about that.

antlers, branches and busts, oh myThe way they displayed their wares also gave me new ideas for the stuff I already have. I love how this vendor used natural materials to enhance their architectural pieces.

mmmmmmmm...egg saladNow for an intermission: The heat outside made us steer clear of the bbq stands. We settled on egg salad on homemade bread with pickles, Lays potato chips and sweet tea. Scrumtious. The egg salad was cold and yummy and fortified us for the rest of the day.

deer head artI’m just now realizing that I probably shouldn’t put this photo of deer heads so close to the lunch picture……..too late.

Taxidermy is big right now. This will make my friend, Amy G., never speak to me again, but I am going to say that I really liked this display. I’m not saying I’m going to go kill one of my own, but if someone gave me one, I would probably hang it in a similar fashion, and I’d probably name it, and put hats on it.

taxidermy artSorry again, Amy. I really loved these, and if I had $450 burning a hole in my pocket I probably would have come home with one. She also had skunks that were really cute. Dead…….but cute. That doesn’t make sense, does it? Sorry.

dreamy bed displayOkay, sorry again, Amy. They’re friggin’ everywhere. This one’s pretty creative. Who would have thought that a deer head, old film reels, metal siding and branches would make such an awesome headboard. Obviously Amy wouldn’t think it’s awesome, but some people would. Someone like me, unfortunately. (I can almost feel her deleting me from her Contacts)

glamourous birdcageThis should make everyone feel a little better; the birds in this fantastic aviary are alive. But now that I’m thinking about it, caged birds make me sad. Dang it, I was so close.

Anyway, the lengths that some of these vendors went to was awe-inspiring. These people brought live birds all the way from somewhere. Sheesh. That’s committment. Bravo. I’m going to pretend they released the doves back into the wild after the show. Come join me in Fantasyland, will you?antique basket rackThis is one of those things that I truly wish I needed because it’s so dang cool. They had it filled with upholstery trim and metal junk.  I’m sure I could find a use for it, right after I find the $2000 I would need to make it mine.

antique letteringI hate to close with another deer head, but it was pretty hard to find displays with out them. This was outside one of the tents. There was so much good stuff that they couldn’t contain it on the inside.

Although we sweated a lot and were overwhelmed by this size of the show, we had a really good time. We didn’t buy hardly anything because everything was a lot more expensive than most shows we go to. I saw a lot of designers with clients, so I think the vendors were aiming for that lot. I don’t blame them. The cost of their booth, as well as shipping costs and lodging during the show had to be astronomical. I’m still really glad we went and loved looking at all the creativity. If you’re ever in Round Top around this time of year, definitely make time to attend. It’s totally worth it.

3 thoughts on “Marburger Farm’s Antique Show

All thoughts are welcome!

