Status Report

You may have not noticed, but I’ve been absent from the blogoshpere. (You probably didn’t notice, but just humor me for right now) I decided to take a break from blogging to see what life would look like without it. In a nutshell, if I don’t take time to post to my blog I get a lot more done.

I started this blog mostly to document the destashing of my paint stock, but also to advertise my work. I had hoped I could bring in some income either by selling my salvaged pieces or creating a money-making blog. Having been born to parents with Hoosier work ethics, the drive to produce never takes a break. It’s a little voice in my head saying, “Surely you could be doing something better with your time.” (It’s constant…….and stop calling me Shirley) If I’m not working, I’m feeling guilty about not working. There is no other option available to me. Even though I have made a little money, it seems to take a lot of time engaged in marketing to get results. I’m figuring out that I really don’t enjoy all the time I have to spend on the computer, but mostly because it’s keeping me from painting and fixing things. So I took a month off to just work and I’ve been very productive.

I’ve been working on getting this house ready to be sold this summer. During a recent home appraisal it was brought to my attention that my work on the design of our home had taken it from the starter home we bought in 2001, to a home that will now sell at the high end of our development. The phrase “bidding war” has been thrown around, which is really exciting.

As a result I have decided that the best way to contribute to our income is to make this house a knockout. So I’ve been working my way through the house restoring every part to it’s original condition, or upgrading it to be even better. I know this is all good material for blog posts, but here’s where I’m at; blogging slows me down. And secondly, a lot of what I’m doing is boring, and definitely not worth photographing. For example, I spent a fair amount of time this week scrubbing, staining and restoring the original finish to worn areas on my bathroom vanity. I know…….mind-numbing.

I am committed to the challenge of this blog and will continue to post significant projects that involve whittling down my stash, but it’s not going to be an every day thing. I am getting way more work done by not constantly posting. I also feel especially good about not filling your inbox with details about the grunge that builds up in window tracks when you don’t clean them for 13 years. Be glad I saved you from that photo. Gross!

I think we can all feel good about that.

17 thoughts on “Status Report

  1. Good luck with the house. I’m doing the same thing right now, on a very short shoestring. I found your blog when I was trying to brainstorm a DIY project and I enjoy it very much. I hope you will continue when you can, but certainly understand the time constraints. Again, good luck!

    • I’ll definitely keep posting, but I’ll be posting longer rather than more frequently. When I can, I’ll break down my processes if it’s something that I think people will want details on. If I ever summarize something that you would like details, let me know and I’ll either write it up or send you the blow-by-blow. Thanks for the comment!

  2. I found you through KRR’s posibilitarian post and have been following your blog ever since. I enjoy your wit, even your sarcasm, and that you get excited over vintage fairs.
    Your writing is the attraction, so I’m guessing no matter what you write about in the future you will have a following. I did notice your absence, but I follow whether it’s once a day, week, or month.

    • Thanks a TON! I love to write, but I’m so freaking obsessive that I read over my posts a thousand times before I publish. My Mom was a writer and I don’t want to represent poorly, so what should be a quick post takes forever. I’ll try harder to keep writing. Thanks for commenting, it means a lot to me.

  3. Congratulations on your house appraisal! That’s very exciting and so validating of your talent and creativity. I’m proud of you for what you’ve accomplished and who you are as a person. I really hit the lottery when I married into your family, in many ways. Your writing, as Valerie put so aptly, is fabulous and I still think you should combine your blogs into a book someday. Way to go and good luck scrubbing the gunk out of the window tracks. If you need help, just holler.

  4. Congrats on the nice results of working so hard on the house! I completely understand about the blog and time. It’s a part-time job just marketing a blog! Haha. I look forward to your future posts whenever you have time for them!

  5. I agree with Lisa and Valerie. I’ll just have to bring lunch/chocolate/wine relief so I can get my wit fix. Spending time with your awesome/insane family makes me miss you more.

  6. I had to take a long break form blogging too. We were working on getting our home ready to rent out as we prepared for a big move overseas–plus I was taking 18 credits at a university. I just had too much on my plate. But I missed it (blogging that is). Now that I am almost settled–meaning unpacked–I felt it was time to get back to writing simply because I love it. And I feel SO much better! But, I am an English major and love (need) to write!

    • Unfortunately, life around here has just gotten crazier. I don’t know when I’ll get back to the blog and it hangs over me like a huge cloud of guilt. Gotta fit it in soon.

  7. Karen, please don’t feel guilty about not blogging. Guilt is for Catholic school girls who forget to use a condom, not for adults with crazy lives who are working their butts off to keep themselves and their families from sinking into the depths of insanity. Give yourself a break. Sure, we love reading it, but you’ve given us so much with your blog, you don’t owe us anything. If it’s not fun for you, then it’s time to take a sabbatical. Take care of yourself–that’s the most important thing.

All thoughts are welcome!

